Reading matter

IMG_0284

A good selection of reading matter to see me through another week or so of winter-night entertainment: books, 50p each from the Brighton Marina car boot sale, pile starting with a WG Sebald I’ve not read. Have to admit that Margaret Atwood was rather ruined for me, along with much of my enjoyment of literature at the time, during the course of postgrad study many years ago, but enough time has now passed for me to have cast off the shadows of Critical Theory and to be able to read for pleasure again (it took a while); so I’ll give these a go. My admiration for Atwood was reawakened some time back; I dimly recall her singing one of her poems on a Canadian TV show to musical backing by the very wonderful Sadies (a Toronto band) in some sort of one-off jam, and while the results weren’t exactly easy on the ear, it was a quite delightfully bonkers performance by all concerned. Sadly, I can find no evidence of this on YouTube, where I believe I originally saw it; and whilst I will admit that the odd fantasy involving Torontonian guitar players has crossed my mind, I really don’t think I made this up…

This entry was published on February 7, 2015 at 10:11 pm. It’s filed under Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

