Swap-o-rama 3: the highlights

IMG_0203We finally managed to fix a date and get together for the third installment of the Grand Swap-o-Rama, and it fell to me to host: nine of us in the end, and enough clothes, accessories and domestic oddments to fill a very respectable jumble sale. Tamsin excelled herself by rolling up in a taxi with a huge laundry bag of things which was, I swear, larger than herself. There’s not space or time to describe every last item exchanged, but my best gains (in addition to a few too-dull-to-detail staples) are noted here: headline piece is Tamsin’s halterneck polka dot dress, for which I sincerely hope I can find an Occasion. It’s currently at my grandmother’s for machine-mending and minor alterations.

IMG_0201I’m also very pleased with Sarah M’s vintage black jacket with jet beading; a puff-shouldered grey cardigan (Maria’s?); Maria’s black skirt with fabulous fringing; and Cass’s French Connection skirt. The wrap-style jersey dresses, Cath Kidston and M&S, from (I think) Maria and Katrine, were less pleasing in the light of day; no, I should know these don’t work on me by now, and they were both the wrong size on me anyway. Still, I have new homes marked out for them. As host, it also fell to me to dispose of the unwanted items, and a grand redistribution is underway which has already involved four large sackfuls to a charity shop (have seen some things in the window already!), a further large sackful to fabric recycling, and some more things put aside for the next one, which may involve a slightly different mix of people of different shapes and sizes. Much fun has been had, nonetheless (much food and alcohol was, inevitably, involved too).

IMG_0204IMG_0202

This entry was published on December 14, 2014 at 10:20 pm. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

