Both black finds

P1010148P1010149Following an entirely unexpected tracking-down from a former university friend I hadn’t seen in years, I found myself doing some work at a Soho ad agency. Cue minor clothes panic: most of my black garments were either too washed-out, too tatty or too small for meetings with potential clients or for talking the talk near Golden Square. What to do? I didn’t want to look like some Brighton slacker who lived on a houseboat…

Well, on my way back to Victoria after the initial meet-up I sloped off to Pimlico again and instantly turned up a most excellent black dress (Joan Vass); stretchy and semi-structured, a flattering cut and shape, a nice fat zip with satin ribbon detail down the back and, best of all, pockets (I do love a dress with pockets). £12, from the unfailingly good Fara shop in Warwick Way. And as a bonus, a tight woollen/viscose knee-length Top Shop skirt for £3.50 from one of the hospice shops further down the road.

(We didn’t win the pitch, btw. But never mind; I think I scrubbed up alright for the big client meeting. The dress has since done duty on several more work-related occasions in the last couple of weeks, including a day at the Geneva Motor Show teamed with my Save The Children-sourced black satin Primark jacket, a long-serving charity shopping success).

This entry was published on March 6, 2014 at 9:16 pm. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

