And finally… mission accomplished. Elegant Ercol #2!

P1000980Well, we got there. As ever, the Usual Shop, in this case a house-clearance stall at the Brighton Marina car boot sale, will provide and I have eventually got my hands (and indeed, my bum) on the exact chairs I have been looking for. Three of the proper high-backed Ercol ‘Quaker’ range, perfect match for the table, and the same as the ones in my grandmother’s kitchen (she’s not parting with them, although I have put in a request to inherit). Had to pay £70 for them – which is slightly galling, given that I have, in the not-too-distant past, picked up Ercol chairs for £5 or £10 each, including the one featured a couple of posts below – but plenty of people pay much more and this does, at least, bring my Great Chair Quest to an end. Obviously, I wouldn’t say no to a fourth one, but in the meantime, the shorter-backed ‘Windsor’ and the other odd ones can be pressed into service on the rare occasion we throw a dinner party… Finito, at least for this week.

This entry was published on November 19, 2013 at 11:30 pm. It’s filed under furniture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

