Booting call

usual shop august 019These quite ridiculous boots called me across the expanse of car park at Brighton Marina and begged me to buy them (it ain’t called a car boot sale for nuthin’). And they were only £3. I have, in the week or so that they have been mine, worn them onstage and to a wedding – an informal outdoors event in a field, the groom a member of a bluegrass/American roots-folk-type band, so not entirely inappropriate – and have already evoked green-eyed jealousy in many, not least my onetime DJ-ing pardner, fellow Banjo Widow and comrade-in-cowgirl-crime ‘Calamity’ Kim (so ner, Kim, if you’re reading this). And don’t you get any ideas about snaffling them just yet either, dear bandmate Maria. I think I may have to pick my occasions for showing them off, however, as I wouldn’t want anyone to mistake me for a line-dancer (dear Lord, no).

Not a bad week or two for the Usual Shop, then, and some fine finds and gains. I did also get to another jumble sale at Plumpton, from which I can add a £2 Barbour jacket (of the classic conservative countryperson variety, not a trendy belted/quilted modern-day one), a checked flannel shirt for my friend C, a cafetiere, a stainless steel container for toothbrushes, and a pair of ‘twisted’ jeans D doesn’t want. The Barbour’s lost to the depths of my car boot under a heap of camping stuff right now, and the rest wasn’t worth photographing. It all pales into significance compared to the far more exciting fake fur and these boots, anyway.

This entry was published on September 14, 2013 at 10:21 pm. It’s filed under accessories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Booting call

  1. Snazzy boots. That is something I would do, buy first worry about when and where I’d wear them later.

  2. oh my! they are beauties alright! delighted they are adorning your feet and i shall restrain my envious glances to once in a blue moon. hurry up and get bored of them already though….. ;)

  3. The Driver on said:

    Hmm… given that they appear to have quite seriously crippled my feet after sustained wearing, my enthusiasm has begun to dim… Too large, too high, too pointed, and as D has pointed out, perhaps a bit too Mighty Boosh as well.

  4. Too Mighty Boosh?! He secretly wnts them for himself, I tell you…

Leave a Reply

