Local jumble for local bargain-hunters

P1000694P1000695

Last week I found myself cycling in the snow around the deepest, darkest outer reaches of the Brighton & Hove metropolis (well, Hangleton). Limiting myself to what I could carry in my panniers – D had disappeared with our car for the day – I managed to tote back a fair amount from the couple of jumble sales I attended nonetheless. Most useful find: pale blue and white striped cotton H&M shirt, set to be a staple of my wardrobe this summer. Not so successful: black Top Shop top, a bit too off-the-shoulder and in need of a more impressive and upfront cleavage to carry it off. Also useful: cream Primark jumper, several sizes too large but none the worse for it – good as an extra layer. For the costumes box and for the fabric: Liberty-style patterned apron and a yellow net petticoat. And a few more oddments: a box of candles (50p) and a selection of fabric-covered coat/dress hangers (a very reasonable £1). Given my low expectations of the expedition, not a bad little haul.

P1000691

 

This entry was published on March 4, 2013 at 5:48 pm. It’s filed under clothes, homewares and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

