Excellent Ercol (2)

So I said I had some new furniture… This was all about the power of suggestion. Lucy decided to swap her rectangular kitchen table for a circular one in a bid for some space-saving; I found her a pine table just the right size (£10, the YMCA shop at the Hove tip), saw that it really did take up less space, and the very next day – as if by magic – the Iford jumble sale yielded this rather lovely Ercol number with fold-down leaves.

As ever, ask and the Usual Shop will provide. I had to pay £50 (they were well aware of what it was, and what it was worth) but all in the good cause of maintaining the pretty little village church, still a good saving off Brighton shop prices, and I did get a chair with it as well. This is a fairly easy set to find,  and I expect I’ll be able to pick the odd chair up here and there to make up a foursome. Then we will – like just about every other household I know around here – have the full mid-century effect. (Still very pleased with my Ercol armchairs, by the way).

This means that the rectangular trestle table and the four dark-wood (Czech-made) dining chairs are now surplus to requirements. Usual Shop friends?

A book clear-out or serious editing of the collection is also needed, as you can see from the shelves (Ikea’s Billy, bursting) and the fact that I continue to add to the library.

This entry was published on November 16, 2012 at 1:59 pm. It’s filed under furniture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Excellent Ercol (2)

  1. Am thinking on your table to replace my broken dining room one….

Leave a Reply

