Marvellous military

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This really is it for the week, and these two finds (ladies! control yourselves!) really are for ME and are not up for grabs (at least for the moment or until I am bored with them). You know I can’t resist a good vintage military jacket, and I finally found a khaki wool cropped one (’40s or ’50s) in my size. £20, from Brighton Marina car boot sale; more than I paid for the grey one I have already, but it’s rare to find one of these which isn’t moth-eaten. And I just wanted it.

The other one is the result of an afternoon’s wandering in Pimlico; I failed to get to the Tate in time to see the Pre-Raphaelites exhibition, but I did have fun scouting around the local charity shops. Fake fur-collared, grey gaberdine short mac (something a bit military about this one, too), £20 from the FARA shop (in aid of orphans in Romania) on Warwick Way. From Wallis, hardly worn (the pockets are still sewn up). I’d heartily recommend a trip to the FARA Retromania vintage shop on Upper Tachbrook Street, too, though I didn’t find anything in there this time. It has been a week of much steam-cleaning, not least because the Wallis coat promptly spent an evening being kicked around on the floor of Brixton Academy.

On the subject of charity shopping, have just found this blog. Charity Shop Tourism: yep, that’s me too. Tamsin, you’ll like this – some ideas for Lost Promenade destinations?

Oh, and mentioning Romanian orphans, my bandmate Tim is collecting unwanted musical instruments for an education centre for Roma children and street kids in Petrosani. More here. Guitars, violins, small drums and percussion etc particularly welcomed, but nothing electric ‘cos they don’t have electricity.

This entry was published on October 12, 2012 at 3:32 pm. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

