Swish-o-rama and the delights of daytime drinking

Prosecco, homemade pizza, Pringles, cupcakes and a whole load of friends’ cast-offs to swap: Sarah M did us proud at her Sunday afternoon swish and I was quite amazed at the sheer quantity – and indeed, quality – of the items up for grabs. Just hope everyone concerned is happy with my donations to the cause. Now, I’m not usually a fan of the wrap dress, nor of things brightly patterned and purplish, but it was universally agreed that this splendid Whistles silk tea dress, the printed Orla Kiely frock and the grey SportMax wraparound fitted me best of all the attendees. So mine they are (thank you!) and I will experiment a little in these uncharted waters. If they’re not for me in the long run, I suspect my colleague J, Queen Of Wrap Dresses, will be a grateful recipient. But I think I may have sussed the secret of the wrap dress now: get a good-quality designer-brand one, not a cheap chainstore effort, as the cut, hang and general draping is far better thought-out.

The black vintage shift is in more familiar territory; it’s very fragile and needs some needlework (I unfortunately ripped it from the knee in the excitement of the afternoon, probably aided by the vast quantities of prosecco consumed) but as I may chop it a little shorter from an awkward mid-calf length, I could use the leftover material for some under-patching. Also gained: useful striped Dorothy P jumper, Jasper Conran cashmere cardie, a felt cloche hat, a silk scarf and various flowers for wear in hair or pinning on hats. Thanks to y’all, ladies present, and now I have an idea of your various sizes/tastes/clothing needs, I can look out for things specially with you in mind for the next time…

This entry was published on April 25, 2012 at 5:21 pm. It’s filed under accessories, clothes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Swish-o-rama and the delights of daytime drinking

  1. Love the print dresses – great finds! What swish was this?

    • The Driver on said:

      Ah, a bring-a-bagful afternoon at an old friend’s flat rather than anything formal. Though we did all swap stuff gained from recent MySwish and other events… what goes around, etc etc.

Leave a Reply

