Swishing and swapping

An experiment: went to my first formally-organised ‘swish’, or clothes-swapping event, with my friend from Vintage Brighton. Bagged up some of my recent mistake buys and unwanted items, and whilst I came back with less than I went out with (not necessarily a bad thing), none of my donations had cost me much in the first place and it was great to see some of my things being enthusiastically snapped up and finding new homes. I’d been a little worried that it was going to be an event for super-trendy, willowy twenty-somethings, but there was a good mix of ages and sizes there (including some mothers with their daughters) and everyone was friendly.

Not a bad way at all to spend a wet Sunday afternoon: £8 to get in, including free tea and some very nice home-made cake, there wasn’t too much fighting (nothing more alarming than at the average village jumble sale, anyway), and I’m happy with my finds. Blue satin spaghetti-strap gown (another one for the costumes box); grey-blue satin skirt with sash (no label); H&M silk blouse (a bit small, but I think I could wear it undone over a vest-top/camisole); and H&M black pencil skirt. And I’ve got 90 ‘points’ left over for the next one – April 1st, Blind Tiger Club, Grand Parade, Brighton, more details from the lovely ladies at MySwish.

This entry was published on March 6, 2012 at 5:59 pm. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

