Bright blue and beflowered

Last weekend brought two new dresses: blue cotton shirt-dress with wide tie-belt, 20p from a jumble sale in Ringmer, and this marvellous embroidered black linen shift (£1.50 from the car boot sale at Brighton Marina). The blue dress is a little disturbingly ’80s for my liking – I’m sure one of my teachers at school had one near-identical – but I’m bored with my usual favourites and shapes, and feel the urge to try something a little different and more daring. Funnily enough, one of my colleagues and fellow vintage-finds bloggers bought something quite similar this same week, but in pink.

The embroidered shift dress is more like a familar friend. I had a Mexican one on the same theme (bought in a vintage shop in Austin, Texas, on my way to the City Limits festival, and worn for many years since) which finally fell apart last year and was consigned to someone’s patchwork pile. I actually have another one with this poppies/ears of corn pattern, but it’s in pristine condition and of better-quality linen, and thus I rarely wear it because I want to preserve it ‘for best’. Here’s the replacement everyday version…

This entry was published on July 15, 2011 at 2:43 pm. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

