Hearth and home

I may have been restricted in my collecting in recent weeks by the impending demise of my car, but some finds are close to home. Someone was (I presume) clearing out a house nearby and left large collections of items out on the street for days. I refrained from picking up some very pretty ’70s  glass dishes, some tatty but easily re-coverable metal-legged dining chairs, a useful little desk and more, and was not interested in the rowing machine, home gym or dirty kitchenware, but I did take a fancy to this large brown French pottery jug with lid, which fits well into my fireplace. I did also, I must confess, take a pair of brown bent-wood chairs (the classic Viennese cafe design) and a scruffy little chest of drawers. Pictures to follow, when I’ve retrieved them from the garage and determined where to deploy them. I feel a large-scale furniture clearance and reorganisation coming on; well, it’s cheaper than moving house when you get restless, though that has been discussed.

This entry was published on March 28, 2011 at 9:45 pm. It’s filed under crockery, homewares and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

