Theatrical greenery and finery

Over the course of an afternoon in Hastings & St Leonards, I failed to score a single purchase in the many charity shops of London Road and Bohemia, or in the vintage stores and flea markets of Mercatoria and the Old Town. My brief seaside break-ette was not entirely fruitless, however: I saw a poster for a sale of costumes and props at the Stables Theatre, to be held the following morning. Luckily, I was staying over… Of course, the best of the items had long gone to dealers admitted earlier, but from their leftovers, I pulled out a couple of dresses, both on an olive greeny theme (my very favourite colour for  dresses apart from black). The shorter ’50s beaded satin cocktail frock (£10) is a little large, but easily altered; the gold-embroidered full-length gown (£12) with fishtail hem and large bow to the back may not be worth the effort, as I doubt I can get it to hang properly on me and I’m not entirely convinced I’d have occasion to wear something so long. Great fabric, though, and I’m sure I can rehome it.

This entry was published on January 24, 2011 at 11:30 pm. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

