Crazy frock

I’ve long had a tradition of wearing a crazy dress when we host a party. Had earmarked this silk-effect one for New Year’s Eve – but am now chickening out. Bought this a couple of weeks ago – £10 from Brighton Marina car boot sale – and it is a fine example of the mis-match between expectation and reality. It fits me – actually rather well – but makes me look utterly insane. I think it’s the bizarre combination of a Liberty-style peacock feather pattern and the pale blue-grey quilting, the flared-out skirt and the high neck; it’s super-Seventies, but not in a good way. I just can’t see how I can make it work (short of being 15 years younger and significantly further away from becoming a mad old cat lady) so sadly, it’s destined for a return trip to the boot sale. And what will I wear for New Year’s Eve now? How do I possibly top last year’s party dress and maintain any dignity whatsover?

PS: Reader, I wore it. If you can’t wear a crazy dress and look like a madwoman in your own home on New Year’s Eve, then when can you? But I am wearing only black for all of January in style penance, and my resolution has been to purge my wardrobe of (most) pattern.

This entry was published on December 30, 2010 at 12:06 am. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

