From Maria #2

Four dresses in the second swap-batch from Maria: a Hawaiian-print Top Shop wraparound; a black Dotty P shift; a purple cotton off-the-shoulder tunic and the star exhibit, an early-90s dark red Ghost number. The first two weren’t a good fit – waist too high – and the tunic wasn’t really me,  but the Ghost dress (cotton, rather than the usual viscose) has potential. It’s ankle-long, not a length I usually go for, but I will resist the temptation to lop a section off the hem; once on, it has a straight-down Edwardian sort of silhouette, and makes me feel a bit Virginia Woolf. In a languidly hanging-out at Charleston being literary kind of way, I hope, not a putting stones in my pockets and jumping into the river way. My problem with Ghost is, however, that I associate those dresses with middle-aged arts-and-crafts teachers. Not yet, but surely that day draws nearer…

This entry was published on January 1, 2010 at 9:36 pm. It’s filed under clothes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

