Two wheels good

usual shop september 2009 021Much as I have loved my old sit-up-and-beg bicycles, I have to concede that  heavy old bone-shakers with three  Sturmey Archer  gears are not best-suited to Brighton’s hills. I gave up the sentimental attachments when I found this Dawes hybrid for £20 at the car boot sale in Poynings. It might not be exactly state-of-the-art any more, but it’s by far the most advanced and the best bike I’ve yet owned. It needed £25-worth of work, but I wheeled down the five unwanted bikes in the garage (in varying stages of decrepitude, rusting and general decay and disrepair) to one of the bike guys at the Open Market, and ended up well in profit overall.

This entry was published on September 30, 2009 at 9:27 pm. It’s filed under Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

