Flying carpet

usual shop july 2009 009My parents have a few beautiful hand-made Persian carpets, some their wedding presents and all the genuine article, but these days live in a house with rooms too narrow to lay them down. Some small consolation: this silky machine-made one, cheapo compared to the real deal but still of reasonable quality, turned up for £5 at the car boot sale at Poynings. I gave  it to my dad for Fathers’ Day and he has put it in his study. When I was very little, he had a big red rug by his desk which I sat on for hours, pretending I was on a flying carpet. I don’t feel inspired in the same way by this rug, sadly.

This entry was published on July 6, 2009 at 8:59 pm. It’s filed under homewares and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

