French linen curtains

My grandmother found two pairs of floor-length curtains (50p) at a boot sale, lying grubby on the ground, and passed them on to me on New Year’s Day. With a vaguely Victorian-psychedelic pattern of griffins, vines, tendrils of vegetation and entwined birds and foliage, they remind me of a more lurid green-on-white pair I had in my bedroom as a child. They’re reasonably subtle, though, with a cream background and restrained use of a muted purple, and work well in my current bedroom and the front room/study. First find of the year, and a good one: my grandmother may be 90, but she still has a great eye for a quality fabric.

This entry was published on January 15, 2009 at 10:55 pm. It’s filed under fabric and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

